top of page
Picture of me in front of City Hall 1.jp

The issues of concern for the city of Toronto and for the rest of the country. 

Click on each category below.

  • Writer's picturebluegreen77

Jack Dakasic a resident of Scarborough-Agincourt submitted questions



From: Jack Dakasic Sent: December 21, 2020 10:12 PM To: bluegreen77@live.ca Subject: Scarborough-Agincourt by-election questions


Hello, I live in Scarborough-Agincourt since 1990. That's 30 years. I have questions. Please answer them. There is 9 voters in my household. Every candidate is getting this same e-mail with questions. 1) Do you reside in Scarborough-Agincourt?

No.

2) If you do not reside in Scarborough-Agincourt, which ward do you reside in? If you answered yes on 1) then ignore this question


I reside presently in Etobicoke -Lakeshore Ward 3.

3) Why have you decided to run in Scarborough-Agincourt?


To serve the residents of Scarborough-Agincourt; to listen to their concerns, to bring those concerns to city council and to bring back solutions to the residents of Scarborough-Agincourt.


4) Previous Councillor, Jim Karygiannis, sent out his newsletters in English and Chinese. Would you be open to that, even other languages spoken in the ward? explain your answer


Yes. English and Chinese is fine with me : I have learned that 40% of the residents in the ward is Chinese.

Newsletters in other languages is fine .

5) What is your connection in Scarborough-Agincourt?


I have none except for what makes the news for the residents of Scarborough- Agincourt . I reads the news; I stay informed.

6) If you live in Scarborough-Agincourt, how long have you lived in Scarborough-Agincourt?


N/A

7) If you do not live in Scarborough-Agincourt, will you move to Scarborough-Agincourt if you get elected?


This question was asked.

I do not think that it is important for the city councillor of that ward, of any ward, to live in the Ward he works in.

At the end of the day, the city councillor, like every human being, goes home to rest.

In fact , it might be healthy for the city councillor to live outside the ward he/she works in.

In the ward there is the Constituency office from where he /she will work, and there’s the office at City Hall.


But if elected I would be moving from my present place.

Where? I do not know...


8) How many languages, either than English, do you speak?


I speak one other language which is French.

9) Where you born in Canada or outside Canada, if outside Canada then what country?


I was born in Montreal Quebec.

10) Do you support a Sheppard East subway or a Sheppard East LRT?


Good question. This is a matter of importance as the residents of Scarborough-Agincourt need Transit in their ward.


I have learned that the subway extension price ballooned.

So that leaves an LRT.

In either case the priority is that it needs to be done . So whatever is feasible now I will support .


11) Do you support Canabis stores in Scarborough-Agincourt? explain your answer.


No I do not.


I am against this product.

Already I had to complain about the smoke of cannabis coming up my balcony which got me so sick one evening as I was having dinner, that I had to bring my dinner in my apartment and close all doors and windows on a warm evening/ night.

I have witness cannabis smoke affecting residents of Tornoto in public places like Harbourfront (where the boats are ).

The smell is disgusting, and it affects the mind.


12) What do you do for a living currently?


I was working at the CBC downtown Toronto as a concierge type security guard which involved a lot customer service.


13) Do you support legalizing rooming houses in Scarborough-Agincourt?


I look at this from a perspective of safety/security for the residents .


What do the residents want in view of this ?

14) What are your five most favourite restaurants in Scarborough-Agincourt?


I’ve learned there are a lot of Chinese / Asian restaurants in Scarborough-Agincourt.

I love Chinese !

I love Asian !


15) How do you get around Scarborough-Agincourt and the rest of the City? Public Transit? Uber? your own car? A skateboard?


I use public transit.

But if I’m elected , which I hope to be serving the residents of Scarborough-Agincourt, I would certainly purchase a vehicle.

16) Jim Karygiannis had a Constituency office on Finch Avenue East, between Birchmount and Kennedy. Will you have a Constituency office in the ward?


Yes, of course.

It will be the office of the new City Councillor.


17) What is your opinion on the underused bike lanes on Huntingwood that had no real public consultation and were installed as a "temporary test"?


I am not knowledgeable on this issue.

18) Do you support defunding police?


No.


19) Many parks in Scarborough-Agincourt need to be upgraded, do you supporting that?


Yes.

20) Many parks are not accessible to people with disabilities. do you support making parks in Scarborough-Agincourt fully accessible?


Yes.

21) Would you support Virtual Town Hall? Using technology to bring more constituents into meetings?


Yes.

22) If you had to drop out and vote for one of the other candidates, which one would you pick? explain your answer


I am not dropping out , thus I am the Best Candidate for the job ! 23 - Bonus Question) Have you ever run in any other municipal, provincial or federal election in any other ward or riding? if yes, explain why?


Yes.

I have run for city council to be a City Councillor for the Etobicoke- Lakeshore Ward 3 in the Toronto Municipal Election of 2018.

The incumbent won.

It was never the less a good experience.


I have been writing on issues for many years.

I guess politics should have been my career.



Thank You.


Regards,


Michael JULIHEN

1814-57 Mabelle Ave. Etobicoke ON M9A 4Y5 Tel.: 416-524-2504



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page